VOLKHARD SPITZER AT NOLLENDORFPLATZ

Volkhard Spitzer am Nollendorfplatz

"NOLLI"

THE BERLIN JESUS PEOPLE MOVEMENT OF THE 1970'S


The Jesus People Church in West Berlin, Germany, in the 1970's, under the leadership of Pastor Volkhard Spitzer and Pastor Wolfgang Müller

Deutsche Version


Welcome to the "Nolli" webpage, a meeting place for all former visitors of "Nolli", and for all who would like to learn about the Berlin "Jesus People" movement of the 1970's.


About myself

Bill Price My name is Bill Price. I am a German-speaking American who lived in West Berlin, Germany, from 1973 through 1978. On July 18, 1973 I made my first visit to the Church at Nollendorfplatz, meeting place for the Berlin "Jesus people". From that date until my return to the States I had the privilege of participating in this marvelous experience. I fell in love with the church and with the wonderful people who were there, and from 1973 through 1978 I was a regular visitor at "Nolli" and an eyewitness to the tail-end of the "Jesus People" movement in Germany.

Many Americans are not aware that the Jesus movement was not confined to just the United States. On this webpage I would like to give you a brief overview of this remarkable phenomenon as it occurred in the largest city in Germany. If you were one of the many English-speaking visitors who passed through "Nolli" during the 1970's, or if perhaps you were a part of it yourself, then I hope that this webpage will bring back some pleasant memories.


What was "Nolli"?

Harold Herman Shortly after World War 2 the American evangelist Harold Herman paid a visit to the war-torn city of Berlin. Any Berliner who was living in the city during this period will undoubtedly remember the big revival tent that was erected at Potsdamer Platz, and which was subsequently moved to Breidscheidplatz (site of the present Europa-Center) after the Berlin crisis of June 17, 1953. Out of these evangelistic revival meetings grew an interdenominational church, the "Christian Missionary Society", which a few years later moved into the famous Metropol Theater located at Nollendorfplatz 5.


Volkhard Spitzer In September 1964, 21-year-old Volkhard Spitzer from the town of Göppingen in southern Germany became pastor of the "Christian Missionary Society" at Nollendorfplatz. The dynamic Spitzer, who was formerly known as a "boy preacher" among the American soldiers in southern Germany, gave new life to the church through his personal charisma and lively preaching. But it wasn't until seven years later that a significant event occurred which brought world-wide fame to the church and its young pastor.

In the early 1970's the "Jesus Revolution" broke out in the USA. Young hippies began turning to a living faith in Christ, and the stories made headlines in the American press. Many considered that it would only be a question of time until the movement spilled over into Europe and Germany.

In February 1971 a young teenage drug addict named Ingrid gave her life to Christ after hearing Pastor Spitzer preach at Nollendorfplatz. Shortly thereafter more hippies showed up at the meetings at "Nolli" and many more were converted. After about three months there were about sixty young people at the church. In a very short time the face of the church had undergone a radical change. On one side sat the old gray-haired widows who had been faithfully attending for years, and on the other side sat the long-haired hippies in their flower shirts, who gave a new vitality to the congregation with their youthful zeal and enthusiasm.


The "Spiegel" Interview

The phenomenal growth of the church eventually caught the eye of the German press. In 1971 reporters from the leading German news magazine "Spiegel" (roughly equivalent to "Time" or "Newsweek" in the US) looked up Pastor Spitzer and requested an interview. Several pages of the magazine were devoted to this dramatic story which was unfolding in West Berlin. Drug addicts were being healed through faith! Young drop-outs were turning to faith in Jesus!


The "One-Way" Tea-house

One Way Tea-house In April 1971 a tea-house was opened at Mansteinstraße 4. This was a place where people off the street could be approached in a relaxed and casual atmosphere. In March 1973 the tea-house was closed down due to a shortage of volunteer workers. One year later, on February 2, 1974, it was renovated and reopened under the name of the "Ladenkirche", i.e., the Storefront-Church.

 


The "One-Way" House

One Way House In order to nurture young coverted drug addicts in a more intimate and family-oriented atmosphere, the church purchased a spacious home in an upper middle-class area of southern Berlin. It was named the "One Way House." Here lived the Berlin "Jesus Family", a community of young Christians under the leadership and support of the church at Nolli. Several years later the "One Way House" was converted into a cassette tape duplication and distribution center, a Bible school, and church office.

 


The "One-Way" Newspaper

One Way NewspaperThe church published a newspaper called the "One Way". This newspaper, published by Aussaat Publishers in Wuppertal, came out in billboard format, and was dubbed the "first German Jesus People Press". It was published monthly and had a distribution of about 10,000 to 30,000 issues per month. It was distributed not only in Berlin, but also in other cities in West Germany. Copies of the "One Way" newspaper even found their way over the Iron Curtain into East Germany.

This newspaper was printed on colored paper, every month a different color. The content was geared toward non-Christians and primarily appealed to young people. I once had a collection of One Way newspapers, all issues from July 1973 through August 1978, but unfortunately they became misplaced through the years and are now lost.


Evangelization HallMy first visit

 

I first found my way to the church on July 18, 1973.

Volkhard Spitzer preaching at NolliAt the time I was in the US Air Force, living in the barracks at Tempelhof Airport. I was looking for a good church, and by chance a friend mentioned to me about the "Jesus People" church at Nollendorfplatz. On Wednesday evening, July 18, 1973, I took the subway to Nollendorfplatz to check the place out. The meeting hall was located inside of the large Metropol Theater at Nollendorfplatz, which at the time was the home of a gigantic porno movie theater! It was such a grotesquely contrasting spectacle: a large porn theater, and just to the left in the same building an entrace with a sign that read "Evangelisationssaal", i.e., "Evangelization Hall". A winding staircase led the way up to the second floor, home of the "Christian Missionary Society". I didn't know anybody and was rather shy, and so I quietly took a seat next to the aisle, allowing me a quick getaway in case I wouldn't find the place to my liking.

The speaker that evening was a young 29-year-old Volkhard Spitzer. As soon as he began preaching I knew that I was in the right place. The message was so riveting that I soon forgot that I was sitting alone in a room full of "strangers."

A friendly girl by the name of Heidi came in and sat next to me, and afterwards she introduced herself to me. She then introduced me to several of the "Jesus People", who invited me to a seminar that was being held that week. From that evening on I was a regular visitor at "Nolli."


River Baptisms

River Baptism Every summer the church held a public baptism at the Havel river in Berlin. The first Havel baptismal service took place in July, 1971, just as the Berlin Jesus movement was in full swing. There were about seventy young people who were baptized during this first event. For every summer thereafter, throughout the rest of the 1970's, the church held its traditional riverside baptism down on the Havel.

I myself was baptized by Pastor Spitzer during the fifth Havel baptism on August 24, 1975. The service took place at a beach called the "Großes Fenster", which, I believe, was the traditional spot for all of the baptisms.


A unique church

What was it like at Nolli?

Nolli was a church like none other at the time in Germany. You had to have been there to know what I am talking about.

German churches are generally more lifeless and rigid than their American counterparts, as well as being more sparsely attended. Nolli, however, was a remarkable anomaly on the German landscape. It was full of life and had a personality that couldn't help making a vivid impression on the most casual visitor.

All age groups were represented. The old people who had been there from the very beginning made up the core of the congregation. Then came the young people who had been converted during the early years of the Jesus movement. In addition there were many families with children.

It was very much an international church. Among the regular visitors there were Americans, Koreans, Yugoslavians, Norwegians, English, Russians, Africans, Indians, Indonesians, Lebanese, Egyptians, and many others. The most diverse combination of nationalities all came together as one in the love of Christ. What an example for the world today, which seeks to bring peace to the nations through artifical and secular means.

It was a very lively church. Nolli was certainly no place for taking a nap. The services were lively and energetic, the people were full of love, and the atmosphere was very contagious.

The church's leaders, Pastor Volkhard Spitzer and Pastor Wolfgang Müller, were both very gifted men of God, each in his own way. Volkhard was a gifted evangelist and had the gift of motivating people, and could be a marvelous entertainer as well as a great Bible expositor. In contrast to Volkhard, Brother Müller had a more quiet temperament. He was regarded by many in the church as a kind of father image. Although they were both very different in their personalities and pastoring styles, there was absolutely no friction between them. Quite to the contrary. They complemented each other by their differences.


Pastor Wolfgang Müller

Wolfgang Müller Wolfgang Müller came from Hamburg and began pastoring at Nollendorfplatz in September, 1973. I remember his arrival in the church very well, since at the time I myself was a newcomer at Nolli.

As mentioned earlier, Brother Müller was in contrast to Brother Spitzer a completely different personality. That is not to say that Wolfgang's delivery was boring. Not at all! Brother Müller had a very unique preaching style, sometimes very witty, sometimes very serious, but always very focused and effective. As a German-speaking American I particularly noticed that he spoke with a very clear and polished High German, and it was always a linguistic treat for me to listen to him speak.

As a counselor he was without equal. Once I went to him with a particular problem, and the wise advice he gave me has helped me even to the present day.

For eight years Brother Müller served faithfully at "Nolli." In 1981 he bade farewell to the church and took over a pastoral vacancy in the southwestern corner of Germany, near the Swiss city of Basel.


1978 - Formation of the CZB

My CZB ID card1978 was my last year in Berlin. During that year the church at Nolli, then known as the "Jesus Center" but still bearing the official title of "Christian Missionary Society", and another church at Krummestraße, the "Christian Congregation of Charlottenburg", united to form the Berlin Christian Center - whose German name "Christliches Zentrum Berlin" formed the acronym CZB.

From 1977 to 1978 I served as a simultaneous translator during the Sunday morning services. During this time period two young Americans came over to the church from Ralph Wilkerson's Melodyland School of Theology in Anaheim, California. Sam Fields and Dennis Ortmann heard Paster Spitzer's sermons for the first time through my translations. I noticed that Sam always paid close attention to me, but Dennis was always concentrating on Volkhard's German voice. Within a year Dennis was speaking fluent German, and a few years later became a pastor at the CZB. Dennis served in the CZB until just recently in May 2000 when he returned back to the States. Sam Fields also served as a pastor in the Berlin Christian Center for many years until his return to the US in 1990.


Where are they today?

The old "Nolli" is no more. The former "Evangelisationssaal" at Nollendorfplatz 5, where the joyful worship songs of the Berlin Jesus people were heard over 30 years ago, is today a night club.

Pastor Volkhard Spitzer is still preaching in Berlin. Latest information can be found at the City Kirche Berlin website.

Pastor Wolfgang Müller now lives in southern Germany near the Swiss border town Basel. You can read about his ministry at www.heuteschongelebt.de.

After a long and full life, world evangelist Harold Herman passed away on August 4, 1999 at the age of 96. He was at the time living in Oregon.

Today the Berlin Christian Center is located at the cathedral at Südstern.

Dennis Ortmann is now pastoring at Chapel in the Pines in California.

Sam Fields pastored a church in Alaska for several years until his death on February 12, 2006.


Most of the following links related to Nolli and Volkhard Spitzer are still in German and will eventually be translated into English as I find the time to do so:

Volkhard Spitzer today:

Volkhard Spitzer today

Wolfgang Müller today:

Wolfgang Müller today

Please write if you have any additional or personal information that you would like to contribute. I am looking for photos, personal testimonies, or magazine or newpaper articles dealing with Nolli, the Berlin Jesus People movement, or Volkhard Spitzer. 
I am especially looking for any cassette tapes of Volkhard Spitzer or Wolfgang Müller from the time period between 1971 and 1975.

Copyright ©  2001-2009 by Bill Price.
Original German version copyright ©  1998 by Bill Price.
Responsible for content: Bill Price
Many photographs are taken from CZB archives and from photographers Dieter Groß and Jürgen Brates
Last updated on September 10, 2012
URL: http://billpriceweb/nolli-eng.html
Back to the Bill Price Home Page
Back to Bill Price Home Page
graphic.gif (2326 bytes)

Volkhard Spitzer am Nollendorfplatz


Die christliche Gemeinde am Nollendorfplatz in Berlin in den 70er Jahren unter der Leitung von Pastor Volkhard Spitzer und Pastor Wolfgang Müller

English version


Herzlich willkommen! Ich hoffe, daß diese Webseite ein Treffpunkt für alle ehemaligen "Nollianer" wird und auch für alle, die sich über die Berliner "Jesus-people"-Bewegung der 70er Jahre informieren möchten.


Wer bin ich?

Bill Price Mein Name ist Bill Price. Ich bin deutschsprechender Amerikaner und in den siebziger Jahren wohnte ich in Berlin. Am 18. Juli 1973 habe ich die Gemeinde am Nollendorfplatz, Treffpunkt der sogenannten Berliner "Jesus-people", zum ersten Mal besucht. Fünf Jahre lang, bis zu meiner Rückkehr in die USA, hatte ich das Vorrecht, dabei zu sein. Die Gemeinde hat mir unheimlich gut gefallen, und in den fünf Jahren zwischen 1973 und 1978 wurde ich regelmäßiger "Nolli"-Besucher und Augenzeuge von allem, was da in den 70er Jahren vorging. 

Wenn Sie nichts davon wissen, möchte ich Ihnen einiges davon erzählen. Wenn Sie schon etwas davon wissen oder sogar selber dabei waren, wird diese Webpage für Sie hoffentlich einige schöne Erinnerungen ins Gedächtnis zurückrufen.


Was war der "Nolli"?

Harold Herman Kurz nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg hat der amerikanische Evangelist Harold Herman die vom Kriege verwüstete Stadt Berlin besucht. Jeder ältere Mensch, der zu dieser Zeit in Berlin wohnhaft war, kann sich bestimmt an das große "Evangeliumszelt" am Potsdamer Platz erinnern, das nach der Krise vom 17. Juni 1953 zum Breitscheidplatz umziehen mußte. Aus diesen evangelistischen Versammlungen entstand eine interkonfessionelle freikirchliche Gemeinde, die einige Jahre später im berühmten Metropol-Theater am Nollendorfplatz 5 ihre Heimat fand.


Volkhard Spitzer Im September 1964 wurde der 21jährige Volkhard Spitzer aus Göppingen Pastor der Christlichen Missionsgemeinschaft am Nollendorfplatz. Der dynamische Spitzer, der früher als "boy preacher" unter den amerikanischen Streitkräften in Süddeutschland bekannt war, hat der Gemeinde durch seine persönliche Anziehungskraft und lebhafte Predigt neues Leben gegeben. Es dauerte aber sieben Jahre, bis ein bedeutsames Ereignis die Gemeinde und ihren Pastor weltweit berühmt machte.

In den frühen siebziger Jahren brach in den USA die "Jesus Revolution" aus. Überall bekehrten sich scharenweise junge Hippies zum lebendigen Glauben an Jesus Christus, und die Geschichte machte Schlagzeilen in der amerikanischen Presse. Für manche war es nur noch eine Frage der Zeit, bis dieses ursprünglich amerikanische Phänomen auch in Deutschland erscheinen würde.

Im Februar 1971 hat ein junger weiblicher drogensüchtiger Teenager sein Leben Jesus gewidmet, nachdem er die Gemeinde am Nollendorfplatz besucht hatte. Kurz danach kamen mehr Hippies zu den Versammlungen am "Nolli", die sich auch bekehrten.  Nach einem knappen Vierteljahr waren es etwa sechzig Jugendliche. In kurzer Zeit hat sich das Gesicht der Gemeinde radikal verändert. Auf der einen Seite saßen die alten grauhaarigen Witwen, die schon jahrelang die Gemeinde treu besuchten, und auf der anderen Seite hockten die langhaarigen Hippies, die mit ihrem heiteren Anbetungsstil der Gemeinde eine neue Vitalität verliehen.


Das "Spiegel" Interview

Das phänomenale Wachstum der Gemeinde hat mit der Zeit sogar die Aufmerksamkeit der deutschen Presse an sich gezogen. Im Jahre 1971 haben Reporter des Nachrichtenmagazins "Der Spiegel" den jungen Pastor Volkhard Spitzer ausgesucht, um ihm ein Interview zu gestatten. Einige Seiten wurden dieser dramatischen Geschichte gewidmet, die sich im Herzen von West-Berlin abspielte. Drogensüchtige werden durch ihren Glauben geheilt!  Ausgeflippte Jugendliche bekehren sich zu Jesus!


Die "One-Way"-Teestube

One-Way-Teestube Im April 1971 wurde in der Mansteinstraße 4 eine "One-Way"-Teestube geöffnet. Hier wurden Menschen von der Straße in einer sehr entspannten Atmosphäre angesprochen. Im März 1973 wurde die Teestube wegen Mitarbeitermangels geschlossen. Ein Jahr später, am 2. Februar 1974, wurde die neu renovierte Teestube unter neuer Leitung als die "Ladenkirche" wiedereröffnet.



Das "One-Way"-Haus

One-Way-Haus Um junge bekehrte Drogensüchtige intensiver zu betreuen hat die Gemeinde ein Haus in Lichterfelde, ein Stadtteil im Süden Berlins, gekauft. Es wurde das "One-Way"-Haus genannt. Hier wohnte die "Jesus-Familie", eine christliche Wohngemeinschaft. Einige Jahre später wurde das "One-Way"-Haus als Tonbandstudio, Bibelschule und Gemeindebüro benutzt.

 


Die "One-Way"-Zeitung

One-Way-ZeitungDie Gemeinde hat eine "One-Way-Zeitung" herausgegeben. Diese Zeitung, die vom Aussaat Verlag in Wuppertal in Wandzeitungsstil gedruckt wurde, wurde als die "erste deutsche Jesus-People Presse" bezeichnet und erschien monatlich in einer Auflage zwischen 10000 und 30000 Exemplaren. Sie war, wenn ich mich nicht irre, nicht nur in Berlin verbreitet, sondern auch in Westdeutschland. 

Diese Zeitung war ganz schlicht auf farbigem Papier gedruckt, jeden Monat in einer anderen Farbe. Der Inhalt zielte meistens auf den Nichtchristen ab und war so zusammengestellt, daß er vorwiegend junge Menschen ansprach. Ich hatte mal eine Sammlung von One-Way-Zeitungen, alle Ausgaben von Juli 1973 bis August 1978; die ist mir leider irgendwie in der Zwischenzeit abhanden gekommen.

 


EvangelisationssaalMein erster Besuch

 

So ungefähr um diese Zeit, am 18. Juli 1973, kam ich in die Gemeinde.

Volkhard Spitzer an der Kanzel Zur gleichen Zeit war ich bei der amerikanischen Luftwaffe und wohnte in der Kaserne am Flughafen Tempelhof. Ich suchte eine lebendige Kirche, und ein Freund hat mir von der Jesus-People Gemeinde am Nollendorfplatz erzählt. Am 18. 7. 1973, einem Mittwochabend, bin ich mit der U-Bahn hingefahren. Der Gemeindesaal befand sich in dem Metropol-Theater am Nollendorfplatz 5, in dem damals ein riesiges Porno-Kino hauste. Es machte solch einen komischen Eindruck: ein großes Porno-Kino, und links nebenan eine kleine Pforte mit der Überschrift "Evangelisationssaal". Eine Treppe führte mich hinauf in den "Evangelisationssaal" der Christlichen Missionsgemeinschaft Berlin e.V. Ich kannte niemanden, war ziemlich schüchtern und setzte mich auf einen leeren Platz neben dem Gang, damit ich den Raum schnell verlassen könnte, falls mir etwas nicht gefallen würde.

An dem Abend predigte der 29jährige Pastor Volkhard Spitzer. Sobald er anfing zu sprechen, wußte ich, daß ich am richtigen Platz war. Die Predigt war so hinreißend, daß ich vergaß, daß ich mich unter "fremden" Menschen befand.

Eine nette junge Frau names Heidi, ungefähr so alt wie ich, hat mich nachher angesprochen und hat mich einigen der "Jesus People" vorgestellt. Seit dem Abend war ich regelmäßiger Besucher der Gemeinde am "Nolli."


Haveltaufe

Haveltaufe Jeden Sommer veranstaltete die Gemeinde einen öffentlichen Taufgottesdienst an der Havel. Die erste Haveltaufe, bei der etwa siebzig junge Menschen getauft wurden, fand im Juli 1971 statt, gerade als die Jesus-Bewegung voll in Schwung war. Jeden Sommer danach, die ganzen 70er Jahre hindurch, wurde ein Taufgottesdienst an der Havel gehalten.

Ich selber wurde am 24. August 1975 von Pastor Spitzer in der Havel getauft. Der Taufgottesdienst fand am Großen Fenster statt. Wenn ich mich richtig erinnere, war das Große Fenster der traditionelle Ort, wo die Taufe stattfand.


Eine einmalige Gemeinde

Wie war es am Nolli?

Der Nolli war eine Gemeinde wie kaum eine andere in Deutschland. Man muß dabei gewesen zu sein, um genau zu wissen, wie ich das meine.

Alle Altersgruppen waren vertreten. Die Alten, die von Anfang an da waren, bildeten den Kern der Gemeinde. Dann kamen die vielen Jugendlichen, die sich in den Anfangsjahren der "Jesus Revolution" bekehrten. Dazu kamen noch viele Familien mit Kindern.

Es war eine internationale Gemeinde. Unter den regelmäßigen Gottesdienstbesuchern gab es Amerikaner, Koreaner, Jugoslawen, Norweger, Engländer, Russen, Afrikaner, Inder, Libanesen, Ägypter und viele andere. Die verschiedensten Nationen und Rassen kamen zusammen in der Liebe Jesu. Welch ein Beispiel für die Welt, die doch versucht, durch künstliche Methoden Frieden und Eintracht unter den verschiedenen Völkern der Erde zu stiften.

Es war eine sehr lebendige Gemeinde. Der Nolli war bestimmt kein Platz zum Einschlafen. Die Gottesdienste waren lebendig, die Menschen waren voller Liebe und die Atmosphäre war sehr ansteckend.

Die Leiter der Gemeinde, Pastor Volkhard Spitzer und Pastor Wolfgang Müller, waren beide sehr begabte Männer Gottes, jeder nach seiner Art. Volkhard war ein begabter Evangelist, hatte die Gabe, Menschen zu begeistern, zu unterhalten und die Wahrheiten der Bibel zu lehren. Im Vergleich zu Volkhard hatte Bruder Müller ein ruhigeres Temperament. Er wurde von vielen etwa wie ein väterliches Vorbild angesehen. Obwohl die beiden in ihrem Gemüt und Predigtstil ganz verschieden waren, gab es keinerlei Reibungen. Ganz im Gegenteil. Sie haben einander durch ihre Verschiedenheiten ergänzt.


Pastor Wolfgang Müller

Wolfgang Müller Wolfgang Müller kam aus Hamburg und wurde im September 1973 Pastor am Nollendorfplatz. Ich kann mich an seine Ankunft in der Gemeinde sehr gut erinnern, weil ich gerade zu der Zeit selber ein neuer Ankömmling war.

Wie gesagt, Bruder Müller war im Vergleich zu Bruder Spitzer eine ganz andere Persönlichkeit. Damit wird aber nicht gesagt, daß Wolfgangs Predigt irgendwie langweilte. Durchaus nicht! Bruder Müller hatte einen sehr einzigartigen Redensstil, mal sehr spaßig, mal sehr ernst, aber immer sehr zielbewußt und effektiv. Als Ausländer ist es mir besonders aufgefallen, daß er ein sehr klares, deutliches und geschliffenes Hochdeutsch gesprochen hat und es war für mich immer ein reiner Genuß, seiner Stimme zuzuhören.

Als Seelsorger war er nicht zu übertreffen. Einmal bin ich mit einem bestimmten Problem zu ihm gegangen, und der Rat, den er mir damals gegeben hatte, hat mir bis zum heutigen Tag geholfen.

Acht Jahre lang hat Bruder Müller treu am lieben "Nolli" gedient. Im Jahre 1981 hat er sich von der Gemeinde verabschiedet, nachdem er eine Stelle in Basel in der Schweiz angenommen hatte.


1978 - Entstehung des CZB

Mein CZB-Ausweis1978 war mein letzes Jahr in Berlin. In diesem Jahr haben sich der Nolli bzw. das "Jesus Center", offiziell noch "Christliche Missionsgemeinschaft" genannt, und die Gemeinde an der Krummestraße, die "Christliche Gemeinschaft Charlottenburg e. V.", zusammengeschlossen. Dadurch ist das Christliche Zentrum Berlin e.V. - das CZB - ins Leben gerufen worden.

Von 1977 bis 1978 war ich als Simultandolmetscher in den Sonntagsgottesdiensten tätig. In dieser Zeit kamen zwei junge Amerikaner aus der Melodyland School of Theology in Anaheim, Kalifornien, in die Gemeinde. Sam Fields und Dennis Ortmann haben die Predigten von Pastor Spitzer das erste Mal durch meine Simultanübersetzungen gehört. Ich habe bemerkt, daß Sam mir immer sehr aufmerksam zuhörte; Dennis dagegen schien sich lieber auf Volkhards deutsche Stimme zu konzentrieren. Innerhalb von einem Jahr konnte Dennis fließend deutsch sprechen, und nach einigen Jahren wurde er selber ein Pastor des CZB. Im Mai 2000 ist Dennis ausgeschieden und in die USA zurückgekehrt. Sam Fields diente auch neun Jahre als Pastor bis zu seiner Rückkehr in die USA im Jahre 1990.


Wo sind sie heute?

Der alte "Nolli" ist nicht mehr. In dem ehemaligen "Evangelisationssaal" am Nollendorfplatz 5, wo vor 30 Jahren die freudigen Anbetungslieder der Berliner Jesus-people zu hören waren, ist heute ein Nachtklub.

Pastor Volkhard Spitzer dient noch in Berlin. Aktuelles finden Sie auf der Webseite der City Kirche Berlin http://www.citykircheberlin.de.

Pastor Wolfgang Müller wohnt heute in Süddeutschland in der Nähe von Basel. Sie können einiges über seinen heutigen Dienst erfahren unter: www.heuteschongelebt.de

Nach einem sehr langen segensreichen Leben ist Weltevangelist Harold Herman am 04.08.1999 im Alter von 96 Jahren gestorben.  Er wohnte im Nordwesten der USA.

Das Christliche Zentrum Berlin befindet sich heute in der Kirche am Südstern.

Dennis Ortmann is jetzt Pastor der "Chapel in the Pines" in Kalifornien.

Sam Fields hat in den letzten Jahren als Pastor einer Gemeinde in Alaska gedient. Leider ist er am 12.2.2006 im Alter von 56 Jahren heimgegangen.


Lesen Sie auch:

Volkhard Spitzer heute:

Volkhard Spitzer heute

Wolfgang Müller heute:

Wolfgang Müller heute

Deutsch ist nicht meine Muttersprache.  Bitte schreiben Sie mir, wenn Sie irgendwelche Sprachfehler finden.
Schreiben Sie auch, wenn Sie selber etwas zu dieser Webpage beitragen möchten. Gesucht werden Fotos, persönliche Zeugnisse und Zeitschriften- und Zeitungsartikel, die etwas über Nolli, die Berliner Jesus-People Bewegung, oder Volkhard Spitzer berichten. 
Von mir persönlich werden gesucht: Predigtcassetten von Volkhard Spitzer und Wolfgang Müller aus der Zeit zwischen 1971 und 1975.

Copyright ©  1998-2009 by Bill Price.
Verantwortlich: Bill Price
Viele Fotos stammen vom Archiv des CZB und von den Fotografen Dieter Groß und Jürgen Brates
Letzte Aktualisierung am 10.09.2012
URL: http://billpriceweb.com/nolli.html
Zurück zur Bill Price Homepage
Zurück zur Bill Price Homepage
graphic.gif (2326 bytes)